Next ECM Radio Show Postponed

Although I was planning on wrapping up my “ECM by the Decades” series tomorrow night (April 23), I will instead be attending a concert in New York City by cellist Thomas Demenga (review soon to follow). I will be back on the air with the 2000s on May 7.

ECM by the Decades: The 1990s

On April 9, 2018, WKCR DJ Andrew Castillo and I presented the third in our four-part series, “ECM by the Decades,” focusing this time on the 1990s. The episode is now available to listen by clicking the PLAY button below. You may also download the full episode by clicking here. Scroll down for a full playlist, including links to my reviews of each album:

Jan Garbarek
RITES (ECM 1685/86)

[INTRO @ 00:08:25]

Kenny Wheeler Quintet
The Widow In The Window (ECM 1417)
“Ma Belle Hélène”

Dino Saluzzi Group
Mojotoro (ECM 1447)

Don Cherry
Dona Nostra (ECM 1448)
“What Reason Could I Give”

Trevor Watts/Moiré Music Drum Orchestra
Wider Embrace (ECM 1449)
“Southern Memories”

[BREAK @ 00:41:39]

John Surman
Adventure Playground (ECM 1463)
“As If We Knew”

Charles Lloyd
Notes From Big Sur (ECM 1465)

Arild Andersen/Ralph Towner
If You Look Far Enough (ECM 1493)
“For All We Know”

[BREAK @ 01:04:56]

Peter Erskine/Palle Danielsson/John Taylor
You Never Know (ECM 1497)
“Evans Above”

Bobo Stenson Trio
Reflections (ECM 1516)
“Reflections in D”

Ketil Bjørnstad/David Darling/Terje Rypdal/Jon Christensen
The Sea (ECM 1545)
“The Sea II”

[BREAK @ 01:29:40]

Terje Rypdal
If Mountains Could Sing (ECM 1554)
“The Return Of Per Ulv”

Jack DeJohnette
Dancing With Nature Spirits (ECM 1558)

Nils Petter Molvær
Khmer (ECM 1560)
“Access / Song of Sand I”

[BREAK @ 01:56:26]

Jan Garbarek
Visible World (ECM 1585)
“Red Wind”

Misha Alperin
North Story (ECM 1596)
“North Story”

Tomasz Stanko
Leosia (ECM 1603)
“Morning Heavy Song”

[BREAK @ 02:15:23]

Kenny Wheeler
Angel Song (ECM 1607)

Ralph Towner
ANA (ECM 1611)
“The Reluctant Bride”

Dino Saluzzi
Cité de la Musique (ECM 1616)

[BREAK @ 02:34:02]

Christian Wallumrød Trio
No Birch (ECM 1628)
“The Birch 2”

Charles Lloyd
Voice In The Night (ECM 1674)

Vassilis Tsabropoulos/Arild Andersen/John Marshall
Achirana (ECM 1728)

[CLOSING REMARKS @ 02:56:40]

Arild Andersen
Hyperborean (ECM 1631)
“Patch Of Light I”

ECM by the Decades: Third Installment on April 9

Join me and host Andrew Castillo once again tomorrow night (April 9) on WKCR’s Jazz Alternatives program, from 6-9pm EST. We’re continuing where we left off, moving on to era-defining gems of the ECM catalog from the 1990s. Click the logo below to be directed to the WKCR website, where you may stream us live by clicking the “LISTEN” icon on the top-right corner of the screen. Even if you’re unable to tune in, we will be podcasting the program here for all-access future streaming.


Noa Fort Reviews for All About Jazz

I recently attended a performance in celebration of No World Between Us, the debut album by pianist and vocalist Noa Fort, sister of ECM recording artist Anat Fort. Noa’s songwriting is insightful and touching, and in a live setting reached new heights of expression. Click the cover to read my thoughts on the album, and the live photo below that to read my review of the CD release concert.

No World Between Us


Anat Fort Quartet: Live at Cornelia Street Café

In a recent review for All About Jazz, I do my best to express the beauty of what went down when pianist Anat Fort made her return to New York City for a night of love-laden music. Paying homage to her dear collaborator and friend Paul Motian while also expanding the parameters of tunes from her ECM efforts, she honored all with her presence and willingness to follow as much as lead. Click the photo below to read on.


ECM by the Decades: Schedule Change

Please note that there will be no “ECM by the Decades” show as originally scheduled on March 26. The last two shows have been rescheduled for April 9 (covering the 1990s) and April 23 (covering the 2000s). The reason for this change is actually ECM-related, as that night I’ll be covering the John Abercrombie tribute concert in New York City for All About Jazz. Stay tuned, on all fronts!